The Grumpy Shopkeeper

I’m beginning to think there’s something to this whole ‘cambio di stagione’, or ‘change of season’ here in Italy. This change of heart also worries me, as I am obviously losing sight of reality. For a split second this morning, I even thought, ‘maybe if I buy a small pointless scarf, it will help my cough’. Oh dear.

On a brighter note, my coughing fits were the start of conversation -and what I believe will be a beautiful friendship. I’ve been buying my bus ticket from the same little Tabaccheria near my flat for a good couple of months now. The man behind the counter must be in his 60s and has a face like fizz -all of the time. I’ve taken this as a challenge -I will make him smile; we will become friends.
So far, no such luck -apart from the morning when I almost died coughing…then, THEN he smiled. More of a gleeful, ‘maybe she’ll stop coming here all chirpy in the morning’ kind of smile, but it’s a start. We’ll be nattering on about the weather and rising cost of bus tickets in no time.

On a more exciting note -I HAVE TICKETS TO SEE THE BACKSTREET BOYS IN CONCERT! Only 101 days to go…not that I’ve really counted.
They won’t care who I am, where I’m from, what I’ve done, as long as I love them and believe me when I say, I want it that way.

That’s right, I did just cleverly use song quotes.

Image

Life lessons learnt: Coughs are annoying, some people are naturally grumpy and everyone reading this ought to be jealous that I have Backstreet Boys tickets. Also, I can’t photoshop things.

Leave a Reply

