On the twelfth day of Christmas…

I should explain what the 12 days of Christmas are.

Or rather, the song, which is quite clearly the most important thing. In Britain, it’s a fairly standard one in the lead up to Christmas, especially for children. I however, attempted to impart Christmas joy, when teaching English at a secondary school in Florence a few years back, to a class of 15 year olds, who didn’t particularly enjoy the ‘let’s sing and do the actions all together’ aspect. I made them do it anyway -a little humiliation never hurt anyone.

I changed the word ‘Day’ for ‘Dates’, since my dating experiences in Italy have been something I had pondered upon writing before, but wasn’t sure how to compile them. So, here we are, about to embark upon “The Twelve Dates of Christmas”. I didn’t go on 12 comical dates, though -some were, surprisingly, normal, which makes for a boring story. Therefore, my titles lies: it should read, “The Seven Dates of Christmas”, but that doesn’t really roll off the tongue.

It’s Christmas day, so I doubt anyone is actually reading this, unless there’s already been a family feud and people have escaped to the internet for some light relief: So, Merry Christmas everyone! Here’s a clip of an outstanding rendition of the song, “The Twelve Days of Christmas”, by myself and some friends, in Italy.

Check back for Date number 1 tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “On the twelfth day of Christmas…

  1. I’m reading this today on Xmas day! I got an awesome camera as a present and so have decided to start a blog too, so I came here for some design inspiration 🙂 can’t wait to see you on the 31st!! Em xxx

Leave a Reply

